Visiting Scholars

Doctoral Candidate of Economics of Law, Beijing Institute of Technology
Assistant, Space Law Center, China National Space Administration
(September 2018 - September 2019)
Research Topic: Legal Issues on International Cooperation on Global Satellite Navigation
Gao Yang holds a Master's degree in International Law from Xiangtan University, China. She is currently a doctoral candidate of Economics of Law at Beijing Institute of Technology (BIT) School of Law. She is also an Assistant at the BIT Space Law Institute and an Assistant of the Space Law Center of the China National Space Administration. Previously, she participated in the Asia-Pacific Regional Final of the Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot as the faculty advisor of the BIT School of Law team. Yang passed the China National Judicial Examination in 2010, and worked as a lawyer at Hainan Sanheyuan law firm in 2013. She  also previously was a faculty member of Sanya University School of Law from 2012 to 2015, where she mainly taught International Law, International Economic Law, and Maritime Law.

Takashi Uchino
Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Government of Japan
(April 2018 - April 2019)
Research Topic: Comparison and Examination of Japan's Space Policy with the U.S. Manned Space Exploration Policy 
Takashi has participated in the reformation of governmental strucure of Japanese space development and utiliziation. During his time as a member of the Office of National Space Policy, Cabinet Office of GOJ, Takashi contributed to the development of the H3 rocket.  


Past Visiting Scholars 

Dr. Ruth Stilwell
Aerospace Policy Solutions LLC
(December 2017 - August 2018)
Research Topic: Integrating New Entrants in Space Operations and Unmanned Aircraft in Civil Airspace above 60,000 feet
Dr. Cho Hong-Je
Research Institute for National Security Affairs, Korea National Defense University
(December 2017 - May 2018)
Research Topic: Military Competition and Arms Control in Space in Asia
Taehwan Cho
Republic of Korea Air Force
(December 2016 - June 2017)
Research Topic: A Development Plan for Korean Satellite Based Augmentation System
Alissa Haddaji
Committee on Space Research
(September 2016 - May 2017)
Research Topic: Planetary Protection
Keiichi Tabuchi
Research Promotion Bureau, Japan
(March 2016 - April 2017)
Research Topic: Political Trends of Space Development and Utilization
Paul Wohrer
International Space University
(January 2017 - February 2017)
Research Topic: Comparing International Commercial Launch Markets
Tomas Hrozensky
Matej Bel University, Slovakia
(August 2016 - February 2017) 
Research Topic: Changing Structure of Global Space Sector
HyeJin An
Republic of Korea Air Force
(November 2015 - April 2016)
Research Topic: Plan for Establishing a Korea Early Warning Satellite
Olga Stelmakh
McGill Institute of Air and Space Law, Canada
(March 2016 – May 2016)
Research Topic: Non-US Satellite Registration Practices and Procedures
Nammi Choe
Korean Aerospace Research Institute, Korea
(January 2015 - December 2015)
Research Topic: U.S. Non-Proliferation Policy Towards Asian Space Activities
Daeweon Kim
Airforce, Republic of Korea
(September 2014 – March 2015)
Research Topic: Space Situational Awareness
Simon Kim
Airforce, Republic of Korea
(September 2014 – March 2015)
Research Topic: Space Situational Awareness
Takehito Morishima
Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japan>
(April 2014 – April 2015)
Research Topic: Enhancing Cooperation and Innovation in Space
Anna Slomovic
Consultant, USA
(April 2014 – January 1, 2015)
Research Topic: Wearable Devices and Privacy

Yonggang Fan
Institute of Policy and Management, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Bleddyn Bowen
Aberystwyth University, Wales

Tomokoazu Ueta
Environmental Policy Bureau, Ministry of the Environment, Japan

Soohong Lee
Ministry of National Defense, Korea

Shouping Li
Director of Institute of Space Law at the Beijing Institute of Technology and Professor of International Space Law, China

Keiichi Anan
Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japan

Chris Gilbert
Astrium Space Transportation, Bremen, Germany

Zhang Ming
Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies, Shanghai Academy of Social Science, China

Dinesh Kumar Yadavendra
Headquarters Integrated Defense Staff, Ministry of Defense, Government of India

Seiji Anai
Japan GPS Council

Koji Umehara
Space Development and Utilization Division, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japan

Edwin Tachlian
Sergio Arboleda University, Columbia

Alanna Krolikowski
University of Toronto, Canada

Hongyul Paik
Korea Aerospace Research Institute

Jo Gilbert
Griffith Asia Institute, Australia

Mischa Hansel
University of Cologne, Germany

Myoung-Hwan Ahn
Korea Meteorological Administration

Daisuke Saisho
Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency

Charles Otegbade
International Space University, France

Yuichiro Nagai
Nihon University, Japan

Anna Burzykowska
Polish Space Office

Zhou Yi
Chinese Academy of Space Science and Applications

Roberto Vasconcellas
University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Evelyne Greneche
College de Polytechnique, France

Sadiharo Hagiwara
Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports Science and Technology, Japan

Daichi Harada
Japanese Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology

Wang Cheng
Chinese National Space Administration, China

Eun-Chul Choi
Ministry of Science and Technology, Korea

Tae Ho Eom
Yonsei University, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japan

Wilson Correa da Fonseca
Brazilian Enterprise for Agricultural Research

Jae-Ho Jang
Korea Atomic Energy Research Institution

Nikoloas Evangelators
University of Athens, Greece

Sabine Herlitschka
Austrian Research Promotion Agency

Himilcon de Castro Calvarho
National Institute for Space Research, Brazil

Hiro Watanabe
Osaka University, Japan

Kevin Eggers
Seattle University, Washington

Byung Yong Hwang
Korea Institute of S&T Evaluation and Planning

Ding Kyu Park
Korea Evaluation Institute of Industrial Technology

Daeyong Cho
Korea Institute of Construction and Transportation Technology Planning and Evaluation

Seung-Ku Ahn
Korea Institute of S&T Evaluation and Planning

Bo-Hyeon Jo
Korea Institute of S&T Information